Isaf Rolex World Award: sailor of the year

In just one week ISAF and Rolex will announce the 2012 ISAF Rolex World Sailors of the Year at an award ceremony in Dublin, Ireland. The ceremony will take place during a dinner hosted at the historic Mansion House in the heart of Dublin and will be attended by many of the world’s top sailors and delegates to the ISAF Annual Conference taking place in nearby Dun Loaghaire. The evening will be a celebration of true sailing talent and success.
The winners are selected by the ISAF Member National Authorities (MNAs), the national governing bodies for sailing around the world, who have been invited to vote for one male and one female nominee they believe most deserves the Award for their efforts during the nomination period.

This year there are five male and four female nominees who have been shortlisted for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards based on their achievements during the qualifying period of 1 September 2011 to 31 August 2012.

The 2012 nominees are:


Ben Ainslie (GBR) – Finn – London 2012 Olympic Gold Medallist & 2012 World Champion

Mathew Belcher & Malcolm Page (AUS) – Men’s 470 – London 2012 Olympic Gold Medallists, 2011 and 2012 World Champions & 2011-2012 ISAF Sailing World Cup Champions

Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen (AUS) – 49er – London 2012 Olympic Gold Medallists & 2011 and 2012 World Champions

Loïck Peyron (FRA) – Outright Around the World Record

Tom Slingsby (AUS) – Laser – London 2012 Olympic Gold Medallist & 2011 and 2012 World Champion


Támara Echegoyen, Ángela Pumariega and Sofía Toro (ESP) – Women’s Match Racing – London 2012 Olympic Gold Medallists

Helena Lucas (GBR) – 2.4mR – London 2012 Paralympic Gold Medallist & 2011-12 ISAF Sailing World Cup Champion

Saskia Sills (GBR) – RS:X – ISAF Youth Sailing World Champion & European Youth Champion

Lijia Xu (CHN) – Laser Radial – London 2012 Olympic Gold Medallist

Related Posts